Bathurst TV

It’s looking quite likely that this year will be the first time that I’ve missed watching the Bathurst 1000 live either on TV or in person since 1982…maybe.

1982 is actually a bit of a guess as I was only 5 years old at the time.  Going back through the 2000s and 1990s it’s easy to know that I haven’t missed anything.  Heading through the 1980s and it gets a little difficult.

The late 80s, from 1987 to 1989, I remember quite clearly.  1986 I don’t really remember.  1985, on the other hand, I remember vividly as I really loved the Jaguar XJS.  There was just something magical about the huge green machine to a young lad – not that there was anything wrong with the other green machine of Dick Johnson.

1984 is difficult and is possibly another time I’ve missed the race as I don’t remember anything specific of the coverage other than footage I’ve seen since.

1983.  Well, I clearly remember watching Dick Johnson in Hardies Heroes flying into the trees on the exit of the Elbow.

Is this important?  In the grand scheme of things, no it’s not.  But it has become a bit of a ritual watching and commentating on the conrod.com.au forums in the past few years.  I enjoy the situation and believe that there should be something like that with the live timing provided by V8 Supercars.  Even F1 has this feature for qualifying and racing.

Where does this leave me? Well, with the expected flight times, I should still be able to see the start of the race but will be in the air by half race distance.  I’ll have to keep up to date on twitter and via various TV screens I can find at the airport.  On the other side of the coin, I’ll be seeing a part of Australia I’ve never seen before and it can’t be any worse than my previous destination in the west – West Angelas (http://maps.google.com/maps?q=australia&t=k&num=10&start=0&hl=en&ie=UTF8&om=1&z=13&ll=-23.190074,118.758259&spn=0.07716,0.170288).

Now to at least catch up with the rest of the series…

This entry was posted in V8 Supercar. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

